Pages

December 01, 2011

Hospital room fees - advice!

Just a little heads up, hoping this can help someone!

When I "checked" in at the hospital for my surgery, the registration nurse asked alot of questions, especially about insurance coverage for rooms: semi-private - private. (Ward is free).

At that point, completely forgot to look at my insurance coverage and wasn't sure if they covered semi or private so told her to not give me a room where I would end up payng if they didn't. Unfortunately, she didn't listen and woke up in a semi-private where I later learned that my insurance didn't cover it and ended up paying $500.00.

So please, make it clear before if you don't want to end up with a bill.

Live and learn right? lol

Nathalie


P.S. What I also learned from this is that when I was in her office signing my life away...lol...it's a blur as I was so excited that morning. So what did I sign for a room even if I asked for a ward, NO IDEA! Which is totally my fault and that's why I'm just writing this to help!

October 26, 2011

October 26th, 2011

Hello my peeps...lol...well, not sure if this is what DUMPING, but it sure felt like a mini one. Yesterday I decided to try this new soup. Chicken noodle. The nutritional label had all the right values, so I said to myself, "Ok! let's try this." Lunch time came around, took all the noodles out and started to eat the broth, chicken and carrots. After I had a mini pita stuffed with 2tbsp of salmon. I ate half and started to feel pressure in my throat so stopped right away. Half hour later, I ran to the washroom. My mouth started to water like never before. It wasn't foaming as some say but it was extreme saliva. Felt the food wanted to come right back out but breathed through the nose hoping it would go away, which thankfully it did...lol...I know some "dumpers" experience wayyy more then this but nonetheless, I'm sure I had a mini one.

"When you come to a roadblock, take a detour."

October 19, 2011

NSV (non-scale victory)

I forgot to mention in the previous post that while I was in Toronto, of course I HAD to do a little bit of shopping...lol I needed of winter coat and shoes. So I started with the jacket...I have been a 6X at Penningtons for ages. I comfortably now fit in a 4X..yay...and for shoes, I also have been for ages, a size 11Wide, and now actually fit in a 10 regular width. I couldn't believe it. The best part is that I realized that now I have choices, I don't have to simply scan the room to find the small selection of 6X's. Enjoy everyday!! Nathalie

October 19, 2011

Been a little while since I posted something...lol So I just got back yesterfay from Toronto. I had two 1-month follow appts. First was on Monday with Nutritionist then Tuesday with my wonderful surgeon. Nutritionist: She tall eat only nut and honey lol aml tsn la la la la la la la la la al al fish chicken al la king oh la la la la.que cest bon (omg, I wrote the word Nutritionist then went to the washroom and came back and my husband wrote what's after, what a nut job...too funny) ok, for real...lol Nutritionist: She took my weight to start, then my mom joined me in her office. She compared weight from beginning of OF and that day and it was -56lbs (9 weeks) then proceeded to ask in details my average daily intake. After typing it all in her pc, she asked the name of the company of my vits and asked me what I took and qty. She then asked me if I ever vomitted, dumped or had any other kind of problems, which I was very happy to say that I haven't. So now she said that it becomes "Trial and Error". The plate photo is my dinner from tonight and had no problems at all. Soooo happy. Surgeon: Of course they took my weight...lol...he checked my belly and since everything is well, I was done. I am officially in the 200's..yay!!!! ok, enough of my blog, off to read my lovely Ellen's book - Seriously....I'm kidding! Nathalie, xo.

September 29, 2011

September 29th, 2011

I'm very happy the "Full Fluids" period went very well. I had no problem whatsoever. Yesterday was my first dinner on "Soft Foods" and was sooooo happy to have salmon....lol...as soon as I took my first bite, DH was looking at me and asked, "so?" and all I could say was "O.M.G. sooo good" lmao I think that I had gotten so excited that one of my bites was a little bigger and I knew right away as I swallowed and sure enough, I could feel the tightness and "stricture" came to mind. I was just sitting there hoping I didn't screw it up by just one bite. I stopped eating for about 10 minutes and felt great again so kept eating. But man oh man are the plates content ever small to what we used to eat uh? lol But I'm so OK with that. I'm barely hungry at any time of the day and sometimes actually, forget to have my snacks. I was happy to be able to recognize that I couldn't eat my whole big 4 tbsp of salmon as I knew I felt full. I think I haven't felt full in 25 yrs...lol...as silly it would sound to a "normal" person, it was a great feeling. Keep it real my peeps! :)
"Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, magic and power in it. Begin it now."

September 20, 2011

September 20th, 2011

Good morning, Well, I guess it was my CPAP because I had a great night, feeling amazing this morning and off to visit the big city before leaving in the morning - won't I be yelling Home Sweet Home by dinner tomorrow.....lmao Happy Tuesday! Nathalie

September 19, 2011

September 19th, 2011

Hello my fellow readers, if I have any...lol...I don't see comments at the bottom of my posts so I assume not so many read them...lol....well last night, for a third night in a row, I wake up in the middle of the night feeling very strange. Like a shaky/weak feeling in my shoulders & arms. Enough to decide to go to the ER. Once there, they did blood work and urine test, which all came back normal. So the doc on call wanted to wait for Dr. Starr's call back to ask for his opinion. All they said was probably that it was an effect due to the anesthetics. Once we left the hospital, my DH realized and said :You know what? You haven't used your CPAP since you were released from HRRH after the surgery. So I am thinking that between the anesthetics and lack of use of my CPAP = lack of oxygen????? I don't know. In the morning, I went to Dr. Starr's office to see the always wonderful Tracy to get my travel grant signed and she said that Dr. Starr had called the office to see if they heard from me and that he wants to see me before I leave Toronto on Wednesday morning at 7:15. So if I sleep well for the next two days with my CPAP, and gain more energy during the day, (the ER visit drained my energy today) that I am hoping he says I cxan return home. Can't wait to sleep in my home bed, it;ll be 9 days, enough for me...lol...take care of yourself, Nathalie xo
Bonne fete Michaelangelo! xo

September 17, 2011

September 17th, 2011

Well, I got out yesterday. Everything went very well. I had no pain both days I stayed at the hospital. I was happy about that...lol I have to stay at the hotel til next Thursday, Sept. 22nd, 2011 in case of complications, since I live very far from the hospital, they want me close. Once I got here, in the room, I was very weak. So I took a nap and then I had to plan everything I needed to eat. Which I did plan before I got to the hospital so I have minimal to do. But man was I wrong. More then half of the things I brought to eat, like yogurt, cottage cheese, was so gross, I couldn't eat it...even the new GNC protein shake powder I bought was just aweful. I was so overwhelmed at one point that I actually had the thought "omg, what did I do". Good thing my DH and my mom were here to help me. It got hard! The first night out went fairly well. I woke up around 3:30 thinking it was 7:30am...lol...and started to feel like if my body wanted to shake, so I sat next to my bed where I kept a bottle of water, took a few sips and went right back to bed and slept well for the rest of the night. This morning, woke up, started with the madness of vitamins and the blood thinner injection then started breakfast and blah, I don't really care about oatmeal so I didn't really like what I was eating. So I decided to post on OH my little struggle and everyone there was so helpful and confirmed that I could eat soup every single meals of the day if I wish, as long as I was getting the fluids in. After breakfast and shower, DH and I headed to Costco to get a case of protein shake because at this point, even if I'm not too happy about this protein shake, I have no choice, its the only one right now I need to concentrate on so I can get my protein in as soon as possible. I had a hard time enduring the walk inside the Costco and getting out, i was so weak that once in the hotel room, went for a nap and slept 2 hours....lol Since i woke up, had lunch and watched a few movies all the while sipping my water and tonight I'm finishing right now supper and feeling great. One day at a time like everyone says! Keep hydrated! Nathalie

September 08, 2011

September 8th, 2011

Day 23 of 28...almsot done...yay! Like I was telling Chris, my friend, I can't wait to taste the food again...lol

Besides a mild constipation, I'm doing really well! I never got hungry or felt that I needed anything else but Optifast. I'm down 25lbs since I started OF and I am 4lbs away from reaching 1 0 0 !!! :) It was my goal before surgery, and will achieve it I'm positive!

I called my surgeon's office to ask the time of surgery and it will be @8am so have to be at HRRH for 6am. Can't wait......not even one bit nervous or scared. Very positive about this next step!

Keep hydrated my peeps...lol

September 01, 2011

September 1, 2011

ooooooooooooooo the OF days.......lol........day 16 of 28

For the past week I've been feeling more emotional, short fused, and I thought it was something else bothering me. I went with my DH to the restaurant for lunch. Poor him, he didn't want to go thinking I would be uncomfortable or thinking its a teaser. So I told him I'm good, it's no big deal, it's only brain feelings that I have to deal with differently then I have in the past. So here we go - man oh man...lol...and it's not the first time I sit in a restaurant during OF. It never bothered me before, this time was different! I became emotional and angry and realized that it wasn't anything else but the withdrawals or my brain playing with me - it's truly gettin' to me.

I can tell that I am a little bit less focussed on work, on what my DH says when he talks to me...lol

I'm just happy I realized what was going on with this attitude..lol..and can go forward from there but to be honest....this journey that people judge by saying "whatever, no wonder she lost that weight, she had surgery" What I say to them? Screw you (and trust me, if I knew my mom wasn't reading this, it would say something else...lol) Screw you for thinking this is easy and that it's a quick fix. Nothing in life is a quick fix, we have to work at it and it's a tool, which people don't get! They think we blink or snap fingers and bam, weight dissapeared!

I'll probably read this tomorrow and say "wow, I was in a cloud" lol

"No one's happiness but my own is in my power to achieve or to destroy."


Have a great labour day weekend everyone!
A tantot!

Nathalie

August 26, 2011

August 26th, 2011

I'm back from Toronto, yesterday was my PATTs appts. It went really well. I got in at 9am and was out by 11:30am.

First was some blood work, then the ECG, then a nurse, followed by the Anesthesiologist and to wrap it up, a very quick chest x-ray...everyone was great!

On Sunday, I have to sleep at the hospital for the fitting of my new (grr) CPAP, let's see if I sleep this time...lol

Have a great weekend!

August 23, 2011

August 23rd, 2011

Day 7 of 28 of OF. Doing great, no cravings!

I went yesterday after work for the first time since I started OF to the grocery store and that's when it hit me. The way my brain was well programmed. As soon as I went through the door my brain went directly to my favorite places. I was mapping the store on where to go. I just stood there realizing that it has become such a habit of buying what I loved instead of anything healthy it kinda opened my eyes more to "this surgery is exactly what I am suppose to be doing".

Habits/obessions/addiction totally took control of me without realizing it. I drove home with this satisfaction feeling that I have taken part of my life back in control and food is NOT anymore!

"My head is like a bad neighborhood, I shouldn't go in there alone."

August 19th, 2011

Well, last night, end of Day 2 of OF - not so good! Around 9:00PM I started to feel irritated. I was ok as soon as I made myself busy by watching Big Brother...lol...but between the commercials, started to notice that I was getting angry and that I couldn't eat and truly thinking just a piece of bread or cheese. Trying hard to clear my head and think, these are only feelings, I'm not even hungry and its only withdrawals. My body was going through some rough changes. Then around 10, closed the tv and went to bed with my head being back to normal but still felt the adrenaline of the withdrawals.

I fell asleep without any problems but come midnight, OH MY GOD! Woke up feeling so dizzy, palpitations, started to shake from the inside. At the beginning, I thought it was my sugar getting too low, I didn't have my testing machine with me so without hesitating, I took 2 glucose pills that I keep at my bedside. It helped, but it started again. Then my wonderful step-son came to me trying to calm me down, explaining that since I had all the feelings at 9-10, this was kind of the aftermath, the adrenaline that I felt was leaving my body, making me go into a panic attack. It lasted about an hour on and off and then fell asleep. This morning woke up, never felt better! lol...still my arms are a little weak but feel "normal" happy again! That was quit the roller coaster ride last night!

Also, this morning, received a call from the local sleep lab to go in August 28th for the fitting, still have to sleep there..grrr...I hate those wires, not long enough to move when laying down....with soooo many wires, I can probably get HBO...lol

Have a great weekend everyone and thanks again for reading, I hope this helps

August 17th, 2011

DAY 1 of optifast!! It has come - 4 weeks of this...lol...my first reaction of my first sip was relief following by "Wow, this almost tastes like a chocolate milkshake from McD's...lol...then after half of it, it was like "ok, maybe not" lmao. The taste is not at all bad, way better then my Premier Nutrition Protein Shake that I have been taking daily since Feb. 1, 2011. But no matter what the taste was, I can't complain, I'm going through this amazing journey, it was MY choice and I can deal with it! - ttyl

August 16th, 2011

I was called to have a tele-health with Dr. Dale from Ottawa. Very kind doctor. He had the opinion that I might not need a CPAP anymore since I lost weight but since Dr. Glazer, the MI requested that I be treated before the surgery, to go ahead and be fitted for one. And of course, it will help me especially when I wake up from the actual surgery.

August 2nd, 2011

Optifast, you are my Everest - ok, I watch too much F.R.I.E.N.D.S.!. lmao

It's my big countdown to Optifast, another 15 days before I start...yay!

August 25th, 2011 is my pre-screening appt at the HRRH and can't wait to let you know the details of this appt.

July Posts

I received an email showing my next 3 appts:

July 5, 2011
Gastric Bypass Information Session (2nd - 3hrs)

They gave us a folder containing different kinds of documents. A sheet with helpful websites like ObesityHelp.com, a forum I fell in love with. So many inspiration stories and help and support. There was another copy of a powerpoint presentation. They showed us samples of different protein products, the vitamins we must need to take for the rest of our life and a food guidelines.

July 6, 2011
RD
- This appt only took 15 minutes or so, she looked over the questionnaire I filled. Questionned me about the surgery to make sure I understood and/or listened to the info session...lol She could object to the surgery but gave me her approval.

SW - Questioned if I was financially ready for this, if I was ever a depressed person, if I'm an emotional eater, do I binge, am I a mindless eater, etc. She could object to the surgery but gave me her approval.

*When I received the email, I automaticcally called Dr. Starr's office and since I am 8 hours away from Toronto, she told me previously that when I know when my appts are to call her and she would try her best to put ALL appts at the same time so I don't have to return multiple times. and she delivered. She gave me two other appts, one with the Medical Internist (MI) and the other with the surgeon himself, Dr. Starr.

MI - I was told by my surgeon's office that the MI might request a sleep apnea test so that it was a good idea if I would go for one in my hometown, at least it would be done. Glad I listened because he wanted it, so he looked over the results and he mentioned like my NP said, I lose oxygene at some spoints of my sleep and he might request that I get fitted for a CPAP. Then he took my blood pressure and that was fine as well. Lastly, he did an ECG and with the results, I received my final approval for the surgery.

Dr. Starr - I had a very good first impression with him. He was very calm, did not feel rushed. He explained the many different types of surgeries and came back to the RNY and explained a bit more. Asked me if I had any questions for him.
Before leaving, even though I didn't have to start Optifast for another 6-7 weeks, I purchased everything so I didn't have to return. I certainly didn't want to drive 16hrs to buy the product...lol
I was given the option to choose between chocolate or vanilla or both. See my photos to see what Optifast looks like. If I understood properly, your weight will determine how much Optifast you will need to take:
400lbs = 4 weeks
300lbs = 3 weeks
and so forth...(approx. $100/week)

It all started here!

It all started when I asked my NP (Nurse Practitioner) about this procedure (RNY - Roux-En-Y). She helped/supported me so much. She made sure I was eligible which I was because I am morbidly obese + diabetic. She went ahead and sent my referral and got the ball rolling, this was back in late 2009. She mentioned that there "could" be a waiting period of three (3) years.

I received my first phone call from my surgeon's office in January 2011 to book 2 appointments:

January 31, 2011
Dr. Starr
This was only an introduction meeting, I didn't meet with the surgeon. Sat with someone and she explained a few things. That I will eventually have to take Optifast: a shake that will eliminate all the fat around the organs, especially the liver since during the operation, they need to lift the liver up to make the "pouch" - new stomach. What happens is that since we are obese, fat surrounds all our organs and makes them soft which is not good, not good at all. Optifast burns the fat around and brings them to, somewhat normal, hard like a healthy liver.
Since my BMI on that day was 63.6, she suggested that I lose weight to bring my BMI to 55 which is a preferred BMI for surgery, they don't like it when it's higher and to my understanding, they can refuse the procedure.

Click here to calculate your BMI.

In April I was called to the sleep lab for the sleep apnea testing. A week after, I received the results stating that my oxygen level was lowering to 81% as some state of sleep. To be determined my Medical Internist if I need a CPAP.

So I was asked to do a weekly weigh-in (has to be on a prescription pad from my health team office) and report it via email which I did. I reached a BMI of 55 in May 2011: lost 51lbs in 4 months. Felt awesome!

Gastric Bypass Information Session (1st of 2 - 3hrs)
They give you a printed copy of their powerpoint presentation and it is simply to give awareness on this surgery.
__________________________________________________

5 months after my 1st gastric bypass information session, mid- June, I finally got an email from the Bariatric Office of my hospital, HRRC (Humber River Regional Hospital). Attached in this email, there was a map of the location of all appts, hotels nearby, nutritional questionnaire and appt letter. (see Jul-2011 tab for details on appts)

The nutritional questionnaire is basically what are your habits, what do you normally eat in a day and it is to be given to the receptionist when you are going to see the RD.

There are 3 hotels next to each other from 0.3 to 0.5KM away the HRRH. ONLY one offered a "hospital rate" and it was at Comfort Inn. They do not charge parking fees however, the HRRH charges $15/day parking so to save the money ($30) I walked (0.5km).