Pages

September 29, 2011

September 29th, 2011

I'm very happy the "Full Fluids" period went very well. I had no problem whatsoever. Yesterday was my first dinner on "Soft Foods" and was sooooo happy to have salmon....lol...as soon as I took my first bite, DH was looking at me and asked, "so?" and all I could say was "O.M.G. sooo good" lmao I think that I had gotten so excited that one of my bites was a little bigger and I knew right away as I swallowed and sure enough, I could feel the tightness and "stricture" came to mind. I was just sitting there hoping I didn't screw it up by just one bite. I stopped eating for about 10 minutes and felt great again so kept eating. But man oh man are the plates content ever small to what we used to eat uh? lol But I'm so OK with that. I'm barely hungry at any time of the day and sometimes actually, forget to have my snacks. I was happy to be able to recognize that I couldn't eat my whole big 4 tbsp of salmon as I knew I felt full. I think I haven't felt full in 25 yrs...lol...as silly it would sound to a "normal" person, it was a great feeling. Keep it real my peeps! :)
"Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, magic and power in it. Begin it now."

September 20, 2011

September 20th, 2011

Good morning, Well, I guess it was my CPAP because I had a great night, feeling amazing this morning and off to visit the big city before leaving in the morning - won't I be yelling Home Sweet Home by dinner tomorrow.....lmao Happy Tuesday! Nathalie

September 19, 2011

September 19th, 2011

Hello my fellow readers, if I have any...lol...I don't see comments at the bottom of my posts so I assume not so many read them...lol....well last night, for a third night in a row, I wake up in the middle of the night feeling very strange. Like a shaky/weak feeling in my shoulders & arms. Enough to decide to go to the ER. Once there, they did blood work and urine test, which all came back normal. So the doc on call wanted to wait for Dr. Starr's call back to ask for his opinion. All they said was probably that it was an effect due to the anesthetics. Once we left the hospital, my DH realized and said :You know what? You haven't used your CPAP since you were released from HRRH after the surgery. So I am thinking that between the anesthetics and lack of use of my CPAP = lack of oxygen????? I don't know. In the morning, I went to Dr. Starr's office to see the always wonderful Tracy to get my travel grant signed and she said that Dr. Starr had called the office to see if they heard from me and that he wants to see me before I leave Toronto on Wednesday morning at 7:15. So if I sleep well for the next two days with my CPAP, and gain more energy during the day, (the ER visit drained my energy today) that I am hoping he says I cxan return home. Can't wait to sleep in my home bed, it;ll be 9 days, enough for me...lol...take care of yourself, Nathalie xo
Bonne fete Michaelangelo! xo

September 17, 2011

September 17th, 2011

Well, I got out yesterday. Everything went very well. I had no pain both days I stayed at the hospital. I was happy about that...lol I have to stay at the hotel til next Thursday, Sept. 22nd, 2011 in case of complications, since I live very far from the hospital, they want me close. Once I got here, in the room, I was very weak. So I took a nap and then I had to plan everything I needed to eat. Which I did plan before I got to the hospital so I have minimal to do. But man was I wrong. More then half of the things I brought to eat, like yogurt, cottage cheese, was so gross, I couldn't eat it...even the new GNC protein shake powder I bought was just aweful. I was so overwhelmed at one point that I actually had the thought "omg, what did I do". Good thing my DH and my mom were here to help me. It got hard! The first night out went fairly well. I woke up around 3:30 thinking it was 7:30am...lol...and started to feel like if my body wanted to shake, so I sat next to my bed where I kept a bottle of water, took a few sips and went right back to bed and slept well for the rest of the night. This morning, woke up, started with the madness of vitamins and the blood thinner injection then started breakfast and blah, I don't really care about oatmeal so I didn't really like what I was eating. So I decided to post on OH my little struggle and everyone there was so helpful and confirmed that I could eat soup every single meals of the day if I wish, as long as I was getting the fluids in. After breakfast and shower, DH and I headed to Costco to get a case of protein shake because at this point, even if I'm not too happy about this protein shake, I have no choice, its the only one right now I need to concentrate on so I can get my protein in as soon as possible. I had a hard time enduring the walk inside the Costco and getting out, i was so weak that once in the hotel room, went for a nap and slept 2 hours....lol Since i woke up, had lunch and watched a few movies all the while sipping my water and tonight I'm finishing right now supper and feeling great. One day at a time like everyone says! Keep hydrated! Nathalie

September 08, 2011

September 8th, 2011

Day 23 of 28...almsot done...yay! Like I was telling Chris, my friend, I can't wait to taste the food again...lol

Besides a mild constipation, I'm doing really well! I never got hungry or felt that I needed anything else but Optifast. I'm down 25lbs since I started OF and I am 4lbs away from reaching 1 0 0 !!! :) It was my goal before surgery, and will achieve it I'm positive!

I called my surgeon's office to ask the time of surgery and it will be @8am so have to be at HRRH for 6am. Can't wait......not even one bit nervous or scared. Very positive about this next step!

Keep hydrated my peeps...lol

September 01, 2011

September 1, 2011

ooooooooooooooo the OF days.......lol........day 16 of 28

For the past week I've been feeling more emotional, short fused, and I thought it was something else bothering me. I went with my DH to the restaurant for lunch. Poor him, he didn't want to go thinking I would be uncomfortable or thinking its a teaser. So I told him I'm good, it's no big deal, it's only brain feelings that I have to deal with differently then I have in the past. So here we go - man oh man...lol...and it's not the first time I sit in a restaurant during OF. It never bothered me before, this time was different! I became emotional and angry and realized that it wasn't anything else but the withdrawals or my brain playing with me - it's truly gettin' to me.

I can tell that I am a little bit less focussed on work, on what my DH says when he talks to me...lol

I'm just happy I realized what was going on with this attitude..lol..and can go forward from there but to be honest....this journey that people judge by saying "whatever, no wonder she lost that weight, she had surgery" What I say to them? Screw you (and trust me, if I knew my mom wasn't reading this, it would say something else...lol) Screw you for thinking this is easy and that it's a quick fix. Nothing in life is a quick fix, we have to work at it and it's a tool, which people don't get! They think we blink or snap fingers and bam, weight dissapeared!

I'll probably read this tomorrow and say "wow, I was in a cloud" lol

"No one's happiness but my own is in my power to achieve or to destroy."


Have a great labour day weekend everyone!
A tantot!

Nathalie