Pages

July 28, 2012

Spinach Soufflé Casserole

I have to start with O.M.G...lol

Lately I realized that I wasn't eating food that I loved. Since the surgery actually, I noticed that ALL foods that I loved pre-op that I could still eat post-op really tasted different, not as good and sometimes aweful.

I said to my mom from day 1 of my surgery that I was convinced that the surgeon, as he did my RNY, played with the tasting nerves affecting my brain so I won't like food anymore, hence losing the fun of "wanting" to eat...lmao. I'm silly that way! (Chris, don't comment on that lol).

So here I am trying to find easy recipes on the amazing SparkRecipe website, and found this Spinach Soufflé Casserole so I said what the heck and soooo glad I did. When I sat down for lunch today after the first bite, I thought, "finally a food that is good to the taste!".

So in case you are interested, here's the recipe, a photo of the dish and one of the nutrional value after inputting my ingredients into MyFitnessPal:

5 oz. of spinach (thawed and drained if from frozen which I did)
1 c. cottage cheese non-fat
1 c. Shredded double cheddar (next batch I will use skim to have less fat and calories)
4 egg whites
1 tbsp garlic powder

Mix all ingredients together and cook for 45 minutes at 350.

I have made 6 square cupcakes.

I hope you enjoy as much as I do!

Bonne appétit!
Nathalie





July 24, 2012

34lbs to go to hit goal..WoOt wOoT

This "Monday Weigh-In" was great for 2 reasons...lol
1) lost 5 lbs this week
2) it brought me officially in the 180's

WOW, only 34 to go. Well, not "only" but after I look at my numbers and see a loss of 236lbs, 34 seems so small now...lol...I'm really hoping to hit it by Christmas but if I don't, it's all good, I know it'll come to that day!

Oh, and other big news for me is that I totally bought a bike. YAY ME! I never had a bike in my life, not even has a child. My parents would try to put me on one but never was interested therefore, never learned. Probably fell and knowing me, I probably said "why the heck are they giving me something that I fall off?" lol

So it is very interesting to me learning how to do this. With the help of my step-son, I am learning fairly easy...lol...don't know what I was expecting but so weird to try, not even having the concept of how this balance thing is supposed to work...ahahah...I'm a work in progress.

A tantot!
Nathalie

Habit is habit and not to be flung out of the window … but coaxed downstairs a step at a time. - Mark Twain

July 18, 2012

What's your 3 things?

Posted July 17th, 2012

Someone on the OH forum posted a great thread today that I wanted to share.

Here’s the question du jour…lol:
“…I am grateful for many things, but if you had to list three things you are truly grateful for that are directly linked to the fact that you had a bariatric procedure what would they be?”

…and here’s my response…

“Very very good thread…:)

#3 - being comfortable in my own skin, without limitations of things I want to do
#2 - clean bill of health, no more meds
#1 - understanding my addiction, the reasoning behind overeating, controlling the feelings I used to associate with food.

Overall, I’m wayyy a better person physically and mentally because of my RNY.
I sooo appreciate myself for taking the step to do this and sooo appreciate our medical system for helping me get a better life!”

Bonne nuit,
Nathalie

"Be not afraid of growing slowly; be afraid only of standing still"

Dark place

Posted on July 13th, 2012

Well, losing momentum is one thing, but realizing I got to a dark place, that is HUGE! (for me)

On last Monday Weigh-in I was disapointed that I gained 2lbs, but then on Tuesday, went up another 2 and couldn’t believe it.  Now keep in mind that I’m not one to look at the scale numbers and freak out, cuz I don’t, it’s just a number for me so the weight gain didn’t bother me, but I scratched my head on the why part?

Few weeks ago, I bought some cool whip.  Then a few days after, bought some chocolate mousse.  Then bought more because I ate that, every single night without even realizing what I was doing, until last night. As I was getting ready for supper, I had that giddy feeling of “yes! As soon as I’m done having my salad, I’ll have mousse and cool whip” and that brought me joy.  Once I was done eating everything, I started feeling sick to my stomach, obviously because of the portion size and all that junk.  And then the feeling was so weird but like a flashback you see on tv when someone is dying..lol…I saw my entire 2 weeks flash before my eyes..monday, cool whip, tuesday, mousse and cool whip, wednesday, even more and bigger quantity, thursday, yep, you guessed it, friday, omg what the hell am I doing? First I realized that giddy/happy feeling I used to associate with food and that, was the trigger for me.  Was I heading back in that path?  HELL NO!

So I got up, went to the fridge and freezer, got the containers of cool whip, placed them in a bag, tied a knot and went to the garage to put it in the garbage bin. I upped my exercise this week to lose back the 4 lbs I gained and this morning was victory…lol…but the best part is that I realized before it was too late.

I dusted myself off and this morning is a brand new day!

À tantot
Nathalie

“Never regret anything, because at one time it was exactly what you wanted.”

Losing momemtun

Posted on July 6th, 2012

I realized last week that I was losing momemtum.  Of course the weight is doing down less and less and the little happy feeling we have when we see the numbers go down from 3 to 5 a week is now less and less…lol I have about 40 left to go and since I hit that blah phase…lol…I kicked myself in the ass Sunday and now I’m back on track.

In my case, I stopped tracking my food intake and when I did last Saturday, I saw that I was eating 1200-1300 instead of my regular 800-900.  So that was an eye opener for me.   Never excercised and now obviously, I have to exercise to lose the rest, I can’t hope that low calory intake will do ALL the work for me…shit…lol I’m a very “routine” eater.  I eat the same thing months at a time and kinda knew it’s not good but still did it and now I’m trying to alternate at least each dinner meals…lol…the body gets very used to what we do routinely and stops acting.

Also, I noticed that alot of the vets on OH tells us that if you do a workout routine that is the same over and over again, the body stops reacting to that too so if you do that, change up your routine.  

Hope you are having a good day.  Me? it’s always a good day! *wink*
Nathalie

“An intelligent person can rationalize anything, a wise person doesn’t try.”  -Jen Knox

Blog transfer

Everything newer was posted to a different blog I was trying out but came back to this one...lol....way better